# Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 June 6, 2012

The twenty-ninth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 6, 2012 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

## **School Perceptions Presentation**

Bill Foster, President of School Perceptions, LLC, presented the results from the CESA #4 Planning Inventory that was done this spring. The various stakeholders in the school districts (superintendents, teachers, curriculum, pupil services, board members and support staff) completed the online survey earlier this spring. The survey participants were able to complete the survey portions that related to their position in the district. The information that CESA #4 gained from the survey will assist in developing programming and planning priorities for the future.

#### Presentation: Educator Effectiveness – Billie Finco

Unprecedented educational system reform entails: increased accountability, more rigorous assessments and higher standards for school districts. The English Language Arts and Math standards have been rolled out with the Science expected in 2013 and the date for Social Studies has not yet been released. A more vigorous assessment will be done in 2014-15 with it being done on the computer to be a smarter balanced assessment.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright

Bangor – Julie Meyers

Black River Falls - Ramie Bakken

Blair-Taylor – Joe Clark

Cashton – David Amundson

Cochrane-Fountain City – Jo Ressie

Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Tanya Gendreau

Hillsboro – Denise Huntley

La Crosse – Ken French

La Farge - Peggy Pasker

Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson

Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Curt Brieske

Sparta – Joan Cook

Tomah – Judy Deming

Viroqua – Marina Abt West Salem – Tom Ward Westby – Dennis Havlik

#### Absent:

Alma – Andrea Goeldner
Arcadia – Laney Bork
De Soto – Jess Boardman
Holmen – Gary Dunlap
Independence – Joe Bragger
Onalaska – Lauren Chafoulias
Royall - Ryan McKittrick
Whitehall – George Everson
Wonewoc-Union Center – Sandy Rogers

Also Present: Guy Leavitt and Michelle Kotek

### Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Jo Ressie nominated Dave Amundson as chairperson. Julie Meyers seconded the nomination. Nominations were called for from the floor. Ken French moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for Dave Amundson. Tom Ward seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jo Ressie moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Dennis Havlik seconded the motion. Motion carried.

### Reading and Approval of 2011 Annual Meeting Minutes

Ken French moved that the minutes from the June 1, 2011 meeting be approved as printed in the 2011-12 Annual Report pages 3 and 4. Motion seconded by Curt Brieske. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Marina Abt and Peggy Pasker representing Vernon Counties; Joe Clark, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties; and Julie Meyers, La Crosse County.

The delegates from Vernon, Buffalo/Trempealeau and La Crosse Counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 8 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 8:05 p.m.

#### **Election of Members to Board of Control**

Denise Huntly representing Vernon County nominated Dennis Havlik, Westby School District and Peggy Pasker La Farge School District for three year terms. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Marina Abt seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Jo Ressie representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Joe Clark, Blair-Taylor School District for a 3-year term. Ken French seconded the motion. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Motion carried.

Ken French representing La Crosse County nominated Julie Meyers, Bangor School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Tom Ward seconded the motion. Motion carried.

### Year End Summary - Guy Leavitt

Mr. Leavitt reviewed the Annual Report with the board members. Summary information regarding the change in superintendents, CESA Administrators and highlights of programming for the past year was shared with the audience. The areas that will be of importance in the coming year to districts will be: employee handbooks, compensation models, nonviolent crisis intervention training, Response to Intervention, Positive Behavior Interventions and Support, Special Education State Performance Plan Indicators, Deeper Study of Common Core Standards, WISEdash – education accountability, teacher and principal effectiveness, school and district reports cards and kindergarten screening.

#### **Date for 2013 Annual Convention**

Dennis Havlik moved to hold the 2013 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 5, 2013 at 7 p.m. Judy Deming seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

### **Adjournment**

Ramie Bakken moved to adjourn the meeting. Jo Ressie seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sug B. Saveto

Guy Leavitt