Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 June 5, 2013

The Thirtieth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 5, 2013 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

Educational Accountability Update

Laura Pinsonneault, Educational Accountability Director from the Department of Public Instruction provided an update to the group on School and District Accountability Measures and WISEdash and other WISEtools. The four primary tasks that the DPI has taken into consideration after thoughtful and constructive feedback from the Fall 2012 release include: finalize changes in calculations on the district and school report cards, finalize updates to report card design, update documentation and create new resources and communicate information to schools. The deduction inquiry process will be from June 7 – July 12. The secure release is set for August 12 with the public release scheduled for September 17.

The big three components of the Wisconsin Information System for Education include: WISEdash (data warehouse and dashboards), WISElearn (educator resource portal) and data systems (student information system).

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present: Alma – Joseph Mlinar Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright Arcadia – Laney Bork Blair-Taylor – Joe Clark Cashton – David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Jo Ressie De Soto – Geri Fox Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Tanya Gendreau Holmen - Kate Mayer La Crosse – Ken French La Farge – Peggy Pasker Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Curt Brieske Onalaska - Lauren Chafoulias Royall – Ross Friedl Tomah – Judy Deming Viroqua – Marina Abt West Salem – Tom Ward Westby – Dennis Havlik

Absent: Bangor – Julie Meyers Black River Falls – Mary Jo Rozmenoski Hillsboro – Denise Huntley Independence – Joe Bragger Sparta – Joan Cook Whitehall – George Everson Wonewoc-Union Center – Sandy Rogers

Also Present: Guy Leavitt and Michelle Kotek

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Jo Ressie nominated Dave Amundson as chairperson. Tom Ward seconded the nomination. Ken French moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for Dave Amundson. Joe Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Joe Clark moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Jo Ressie seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2012 Annual Meeting Minutes

Tom Ward moved that the minutes from the June 6, 2012 meeting be approved as distributed and printed in the 2012-13 Annual Report pages 5 and 6. Motion seconded by Jo Ressie. Motion carried.

Guy Leavitt recognized Marlane Anderson from Melrose-Mindoro for her fifteen years of service on the Board of Control. She was presented with an engraved clock. Marlane was thanked for her contributions and wished well. Marlane's seat will become open for representation from Jackson County.

The chair announced the expired terms of Dave Amundson representing Monroe County; Marlane Anderson and Jim Wright, Jackson County; and Tom Ward, La Crosse County.

The delegates from Monroe, Jackson and La Crosse Counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 8 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 8:10 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Curt Breiske representing Monroe County moved to nominate Dave Amundson, from the Cashton School District for a 3-year term. Other Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Judy Deming seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Marlane Anderson representing Jackson County moved to nominate Jim Wright, from the Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan School District for a 3-year term with the second seat to remain vacant at this time. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Joe Clark seconded the nomination. Motion carried unanimously.

Ken French representing La Crosse County nominated Tom Ward from the West Salem School District for a 3-year term. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Lauren Chafoulias seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary – Guy Leavitt

Mr. Leavitt highlighted the Annual Report that was distributed to Board members and summarized the year. CESA #4 has been assisting districts with the release of the school report cards with the change to the new NAEP cut scores for the WKCE tests. The second challenge for schools was adapting to the common core standards in English Language Arts and Math. The common core standards are rigorous and grade level specific for students. The third major challenge facing schools is in preparing for the teacher and principal effectiveness system. CESA #4 staff has received professional development to help districts with these new initiatives.

Date for 2014 Annual Convention

The 2014 Annual Convention will be held on Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 7 p.m.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Ken French moved to adjourn the meeting. Joe Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Bug B. Savito

Guy Leavitt