Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 August 5, 2020

The thirty-seventh Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, August 5, 2020 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Program: Kaye Henrickson, CESA #4 Instructional Services Director Kaye reviewed the highlights of the Education Forward report recently released from the Department of Public Instruction. A guide for districts to utilize as they plan ahead for the new school year whether it be in person learning, a blended-environment or totally virtual. Districts have learned from their spring experience on how they can utilize staff as they need to switch modes of instruction. For instance, paraeducators can assist teachers when in the virtual environment by monitoring the "chat" questions while teachers are delivering course content and by assisting students with technology. The keys to a successful school year will be to layout the norms and classroom expectations to both the students and parents. Communication will be very important in the process if the pandemic forces the school, building or group cohort to change to a virtual format throughout the school year. Everyone will need to remember to work collaboratively and to take care of the mental health of themselves, students, educators and the members of the community during this time.

CESA #4 has recently begun using the Canvas Learning Management Platform to manage the online course learning materials that CESA #4 staff are developing for area educators to utilize. CESA #4 is committed to assisting area school districts with staying up to date in the blended learning environment and to be a resource for educators to use during these challenging times.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright Arcadia – Diana Tempski Bangor – Julie Meyers Blair-Taylor – Jeff Stahlheim Cashton – David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Larry Cyrus Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Pat Malone Holmen – Chris Lau Independence – Kathy Warner La Crosse – Dawn Comeau La Farge – Aaron Nemec Melrose-Mindoro – Jodi Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Kevin Bauman Onalaska – Mark Casselius Tomah – Pam Buchda Viroqua – Matt Tubbin West Salem – Jane Halverson Westby – Gerald Roethel Wonewoc-Union Center – Jon Woolever

Absent: Alma – Douglas Kane Black River Falls – Mary Jo Rozmenoski De Soto – Kirk Holiday Hillsboro – Jason Oetzman Royall – Sara Palamaruk Sparta – Nancy Sikorsky Whitehall – George Everson

Also Present: Dr. Kehl Arnson and Michelle Kotek

Thank you for participating in tonight's meeting.

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Dawn Comeau nominated David Amundson as chairperson. Jane Halverson moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Pat Malone seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Dawn Comeau moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes

Dawn Comeau moved that the minutes from the June 5, 2019 meeting be approved as distributed. Motion seconded by Julie Meyers. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Kevin Bauman, Monroe County; Dawn Comeau, La Crosse School District, and Larry Cyrus, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties.

Given the circumstances that we have Board members joining us remotely this evening, meeting as a caucus will be rather challenging. We will be looking for nominations for the three seats tonight. Given board policy and by-laws, the La Crosse School District retains one seat on the CESA Board of Control.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Jane Halverson representing La Crosse County nominated Dawn Comeau, La Crosse School District for a 3-year term. Jane Halverson moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for Dawn Comeau, La Crosse School District. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

David Amundson representing Monroe County nominated Kevin Bauman, Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton School District, for a 3-year term. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. David Amundson moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for Kevin Bauman. Pam Buchda seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Pat Malone representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Larry Cyrus, Cochrane-Fountain City School District for a 3-year term. Other nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Pat Malone, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for Larry Cyrus. Jeff Stahlheim seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Review of Annual Snapshot – Dr. Kehl Arnson

Dr. Arnson highlighted areas of the Snapshot for 2019-2020. The year brought many challenges to our area educators and as districts turned to virtual instruction in March/April, our staff united in our efforts to support educators and students as they transitioned to a remote learning environment. Many of our services have moved to an online format for the upcoming school year. CESA #4 has our Covid19 Action Plan in place and our staff is ready and eager to assist our districts in the region. Please reach out to our office if we can help your school district.

Date for 2021 Annual Convention

Dawn Comeau moved to hold the 2021 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 2, 2021 at 6:30 p.m. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Pat Malone moved to adjourn the meeting. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Kotek