COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL SERVICE AGENCY #4

The Board of Control met on Wednesday, April 6, 2022 at Wason's Restaurant, Galesville, WI

Chairman Dave Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:40 p.m.

Board Members Present: Dave Amundson, Kevin Bauman, Dawn Comeau, Larry Cyrus, Catherine Griffin, Julie Meyers, Gerald Roethel, Mary Jo Rozmenoski, Sarah Staff, and Jim Wright

Members excused: Aaron Nemec

Also Present: Dr. Kehl Arnson, Wayde Pollock and Michelle Kotek

PUPLIC INPUT

None

APPROVAL OF REVISED MEETING AGENDA

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to approve the revised meeting agenda as distributed to board members. Dawn Comeau seconded the motion. Motion carried.

READING AND APPROVAL OF MARCH 22, 29, 30, 2022 MEETING MINUTES

Sarah Staff moved to approve the meeting minutes from March 22, 29, and 30, 2022. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE VOUCHERS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT FOR THE MONTH OF MARCH 2022

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to approve the vouchers and financial statement for March 2022. Sarah Staff seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE RETIREMENT AND RESIGNATION

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to approve the retirement of Mary Devine, WISH Center program Assistant and Receptionist effective June 30, 2022 and the resignation of Robert Martin, part-time maintenance. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE RECOMMENDED NEOLA POLICY UPDATES

Dr. Arnson discussed the recommended policy updates that Dave Laehn reviewed with him on March 31st. Catherine Griffin moved to accept the policy updates as distributed. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried.

DISCUSS ANNUAL CONVENTION MEETING

The following board members have CESA 4 Board of Control terms expiring this year (2022) Dave Amundson, Catherine Griffin, Mary Jo Rozmenoski, and Jim Wright. Julie Meyers agreed to chair the June 1st meeting in the absence of Dave Amundson.

APPROVE STANDARD RAISE INCREASE FOR 2022-2023

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to approve a 5 percent increase for employees with the discretion of the Administrator to make adjustments. Catherine Griffin seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE HEALTH INSURANCE RENEWAL FOR 2022-2023

Jim Wright moved to approve WCA – Group Health Trust Renewal for 2022-2023 with a zero percent increase. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE DENTAL INSURANCE RENEWAL FOR 2022-2023

Jim Wright moved to approve Delta Dental as the insurance provider for the 2022-2023 year with an 8 percent increase with CESA 4 absorbing the increase in premium. Sarah Staff seconded the motion. Motion carried.

AGENCY ADMINISTRATORS' REPORT TO THE BOARD

- Alternative Licensing Pathways and Supports (ALPSS) program has officially been approved by the DPI. Congratulations to Kaye Henrickson and Jen Rasmussen.
- Superintendent meeting was held yesterday with discussion on district budgets and salary percentages and changes in CESA programming for the upcoming year.
- Results from the four area school district referendums
 - o Independence \$900,000 failed
 - o Royall -\$10.9 million passed
 - o Sparta \$4.2 million failed
 - West Salem \$7.75 million passed
- Reminder that CESA 4 is hosting the WASB New Board Member Gathering on Tuesday evening, April 19 from 7 9 p.m. Barry Forbes will be the presenter.

Sarah Staff moved to approve the motion. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

BOARD OF CONTROL MEMBER RECOGNITION

Dave Amundson presented Dawn Comeau, La Crosse School Board, with a clock in recognition of her five years on the Board of Control.

ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION UNDER WISCONSIN STATUTE 19.85 (1) [c] OF THE WISCONSIN STATUTES, THE BOARD WILL ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION TO DISCUSS THE ADMINISTRATIVE SEARCH PROCESS AND CONTRACT PARAMETERS

Sarah Staff moved to go into closed session. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken: Kevin Bauman – aye; Dawn Comeau – aye; Larry Cyrus – aye; Catherine Griffin – aye; Julie Meyers – aye; Aaron Nemec – absent; Gerald Roethel – aye; Mary Jo Rozmenoski – aye; Sarah Staff – aye; Jim Wright – aye; and Dave Amundson – aye. Adjourned into closed session at 8:18 p.m.

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Sarah Staff moved to return to open session. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken: Julie Meyers moved to go into closed session. A roll call vote was taken: Kevin Bauman –aye; Dawn Comeau – aye; Larry Cyrus – aye; Catherine Griffin – aye; Julie Meyers – aye; Aaron Nemec – absent; Gerald Roethel – aye; Mary Jo Rozmenoski – aye; Sarah Staff – aye; and Jim Wright – aye; Dave Amundson – aye. Reconvened to open session at 8:32 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting will be Wednesday, April 13, 2022 at CESA 4 for 2nd round of administrator interviews.

Sarah Staff moved to adjourn the meeting. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:33 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Kotek