Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 June 2, 2021

The thirty-eighth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 2, 2021 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m.

Program: John Ashley, Executive Director of Wisconsin Association of School Boards

John thanked the board members for the important role they play in their local districts. John reminded the board members to take the time to stop and reflect and to give themselves credit. We all need to take care of ourselves and our mental health as it has not been an easy school year for anyone. We have learned how important our teachers are in-person in the classroom as well as virtually providing instruction. Principals do an amazing job focusing on the students in their buildings and keeping all systems running smoothly.

The lessons that WASB learned during the pandemic included:

- Pivoting to use technology to reach educators and board members to provide the timely dissemination of information
- Experienced good turnout of board members utilizing Zoom for WASB workshop offerings
- Feedback from board members was that they appreciated not having to drive distances for the workshop offerings.

Question to the group: How are you going to take the lessons learned from the pandemic when moving forward in your local school districts?

Responses from students surveyed included: enjoyed not being bullied, some students thought the teachers where more responsive in the virtual setting and students appreciated not having distractions that occur in the regular classroom setting. Public schools help students interact with others and acclimate to their communities.

Legislate update - Wisconsin schools could lose out on at least \$1.5 billion in one-time COVID relief funds if state lawmakers do not revisit the state K-12 education budget and increase state funding. John reminded board members to talk to their legislators. It will need a grassroots effort by you and others in your community so the funding isn't reverted back to the federal government and reallocated to other states that do qualify to receive the funds and meet the maintenance of effort requirement. An equity taskforce was created at WASB to rethink how the association engages with districts on the topic. Resources need to be allocated so all students have the opportunity to be resourceful.

We also need to be supportive of the early childhood providers in our local communities. A light was certainly shed on the invaluable role they play to our local families and employers in keeping our local communities prospering.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Arcadia – Diane Tempski Bangor – Julie Meyers Black River Falls - Mary Jo Rozmenoski Blair-Taylor - Sarah Staff Cashton – David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Larry Cyrus Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau - Pat Malone Hillsboro – Lindsay O'Hair Holmen - Brian Wopat Independence – Deborah Bork La Crosse – Dawn Comeau La Farge – Aaron Nemec Melrose-Mindoro - Jodi Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Kevin Bauman Onalaska – Tesia Marshik Royall – Marie Vitcenda Sparta – Nancy Sikorsky (virtual connection) Tomah – Susan Bloom West Salem - Catherine Griffin Westby – Gerald Roethel

Also Present: Dr. Kehl Arnson and Michelle Kotek

Absent: Alma – Douglas Kane Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright De Soto – Kirk Holiday Viroqua – Matt Tubbin Whitehall – Jason Molis Wonewoc-Union Center – Jon Woolever

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Dawn Comeau nominated Dave Amundson as chairperson. Julie Meyers seconded the nomination. Pat Malone moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for Dave Amundson. Motion carried unanimously.

Dawn Comeau moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Deborah Bork seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes

Dawn Comeau moved that the minutes from the August 5, 2020 meeting be approved as distributed. Motion seconded by Diane Tempski. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Aaron Nemec and Gerald Roethel, Vernon County; Julie Meyers, La Crosse County, and Sarah Staff, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties.

The delegates from La Crosse, Vernon and Buffalo/Trempealeau counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:20 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:30 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Dawn Comeau representing La Crosse County nominated Julie Meyers, Bangor School District for a 3-year term. Brian Wopat seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Lindsay O'Hair representing Vernon County nominated Aaron Nemec, La Farge School District and Gerald Roethel, Westby School District for 3-year terms. Aaron Nemec seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Pat Malone representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Sarah Staff from Blair-Taylor School District for a 3-year term. Diana Tempski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary – Dr. Kehl Arnson

CESA #4 changed the delivery of our programming to overcome the obstacles due to the pandemic. A hybrid/blended model became more efficient for our educators. We will continue the hybrid model going forward for districts.

Kehl reviewed the annual report summary in its new online format. Kehl highlighted the different format the superintendents' meetings took on this past year.

CESA #4 prides itself on our proactive programming to meet the needs of our school districts. Our itinerant workforce keeps growing as the needs continually increase for our schools and with some of the private providers retiring. The training/support that we provide to new teachers has been very well received. The instructional coaching model continues to expand with the districts looking to grow their own leadership teams. Kehl shared the names of the CESA #4 recipients of the Wisconsin Council of Administrators of Special Services awards for their contributions to special education and pupil services.

- Kristina June, Sparta, Outstanding Special Education Teacher
- Kristin Alderman, Viroqua, Outstanding New Special Education Teacher
- Joe Beran, La Crosse, Outstanding School and Community Leader
- Karri Bjornstad, Bangor, Outstanding Speech and Language Pathologist
- Nancy Reithel, serves multiple districts, Physical Therapist
- Resa Hawes, La Crosse, Outstanding Special Education Program Support Coordinator
- Ashley Wateski, De Soto, Outstanding Special Education Teacher
- Amanda Nemec, La Farge, Outstanding Special Education Paraprofessional

Kehl thanked the board members for attending and for the hard work and time they commit to their local districts.

Date for 2022 Annual Convention

Sarah Staff moved to hold the 2022 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 1, 2022 at 6:30 p.m. Dawn Comeau seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Dawn Comeau moved to adjourn the meeting. Catherine Griffin seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Kotek