Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency 4 June 1, 2022

The thirty-ninth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 1st, 2022 at CESA 4 (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Julie Meyers called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Nominations for Convention Chair: Jim Wright moved to approve Julie Meyers as Chair for the meeting. Sarah Staff seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Approval of Meeting Agenda: Sara Staff moved to approve the meeting agenda. Catherine Griffin seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Program: Alternative Licensing Pathways Supports and Services presented by Kaye Henrickson and Jen Rasmussen.

Kaye Henrickson and Jen Rasmussen presented on the Alternative Licensing Pathways Supports and Services (ALPSS) program. They are continuing to work through the process to get approved by the Department of Public Instruction. The goal is to provide the opportunity to grow more educators within the CESA 4 region. It is a non-traditional postbaccalaureate program that would take 11 months to complete. An applicant would complete an application and interview and go through a school transcript review/background check to see what classes are already completed. The program would include self-paced online courses, participation in monthly collaborations (Saturday seminars), completion of field experiences (both preand student teaching) and completion of content-based portfolio. The area that would be in the startup phase would include the general education teacher (K-9) and would grow from there based on the needs of those interested candidates. The plan is to roll-out the new service for 2022-23. There is a three to five year anticipated return on investment. Kaye and Jen are hopeful that DPI will give them final program approval before the end of the month.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright Arcadia – Diane Tempski Bangor – Julie Meyers Black River Falls – Mary Jo Rozmenoski, Tom Epps Blair-Taylor – Sarah Staff Cochrane-Fountain City – Larry Cyrus Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Larry Moore Holmen – Barb Wuensch Independence – Jenny Solberg La Crosse – Juan Jimenez Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Kevin Bauman Onalaska – Tesia Marshik Sparta – Pat McKenna Tomah – Susan Bloom West Salem – Catherine Griffin Westby – Gerald Roethel

Also Present: Dr. Kehl Arnson and Michelle Kotek

Absent: Alma – Douglas Kane Cashton – Dave Amundson De Soto – Jeff Long Hillsboro – Jason Oetzman La Farge – Aaron Nemec Melrose-Mindoro – no delegate selected Royall – Marie Vitcenda Viroqua – Matt Tubbin Whitehall – Jason Molis Wonewoc-Union Center – Jon Woolever

Juan Jimenez moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Tesia Marshik seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2021 Annual Meeting Minutes

Jim Wright moved that the minutes from the June 2, 2021 meeting be approved as distributed. Motion seconded by Susan Bloom. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of David Amundson, Monroe County; Mary Jo Rozmenoski and Jim Wright, Jackson County; and Catherine Griffin, La Crosse County

The delegates from La Crosse, Jackson and Monroe counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:07 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:15 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Juan Jimenez representing La Crosse County nominated Catherine Griffin, West Salem School District for a 3-year term. Tesia Marshik seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Tom Epps representing Jackson County nominated Mary Jo Rozmenoski, Black River Falls and Jim Wright, Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan for 3-year terms. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Susan Bloom representing Monroe County nominated Dave Amundson from the Cashton School District for a 3-year term. Pat McKenna seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary – Dr. Kehl Arnson

Kehl reviewed the electronic Annual Report with the members present.

- Four of the CESAs will be getting new agency administrators on July 1st.
- Funding for the WI Center for Resilient Schools will end June 30th. The team provided school-based mental health and trauma sensitive virtual coaching to 128 school teams.
- Itinerant services audiology, hearing, OT, PT, orientation and mobility, vision and school social work services were purchased by 23 of the 26 school districts. Three districts outside of CESA 4 also purchased.
- Academic and Career Planning workshops supported 11 school districts.
- Youth apprenticeship service worked with 14 districts for a total of 115 students, 100 employers and salary to those students totaling \$642,158.71.
- Title III Consortium worked with 18 of our school districts to support their English learners and immigrant children.
- Paul Fischer has been hired as the next agency administrator and will begin his duties on July 1st. Paul has been the superintendent of the Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan School District since 2013.

Date for 2023 Annual Convention

Sarah Staff moved to hold the 2023 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 7, 2023 at 6:30 p.m. Juan Jimenez seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Julie Meyers announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Juan Jimenez moved to adjourn the meeting. Catherine Griffin seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Kotek