Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4

Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on June 2, 2010

The twenty-seventh Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 2, 2010, at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

CESA Services Review - Peggy Vogel prepared a video clip of the program and services provided to our area school district staff and students over the past year.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Kristi Hanson Bangor – Julie Meyers Black River Falls – Lois Corey Blair-Taylor – Joe Clark Cashton - David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Jo Ressie Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Gene Hogden Hillsboro – Jenny Hynek Holmen – Cheryl Hancock La Farge – Doug Muller Melrose-Mindoro - Marlane Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Curt Brieske Royall – Michael Crneckiy Viroqua – Amanda Running West Salem – Errol Kindschy Westby – Dennis Havlik Whitehall – David Skoyen

The following delegates were absent: Alma – Douglas Kane Arcadia – Laney Bork De Soto – Kirk Holliday Independence – Lori Glaunert La Crosse – Steve Kopp Onalaska – Ann Garrity Sparta – Joan Cook Tomah - Mary Ellen Justinger Wonewoc-Union Center - Sandy Rogers

Also present: Guy Leavitt and Michelle Kotek

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Errol Kindschy nominated David Amundson. Kristi Hanson seconded the nomination. Julie Meyers moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Joe Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Jo Ressie moved to adopt the Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Cheryl Hancock seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2009 Annual Meeting Minutes

Jo Ressie moved that the minutes from the June 3, 2009 meeting be approved as printed in the 2009 - 2010Annual Report pages 3 and 4. Motion seconded by Lois Corey. Motion carried.

The chairman announced the expired terms of David Amundson, Monroe County; Marlane Anderson, Jackson County; Kristi Hanson, Jackson County; and Errol Kindschy, La Crosse County.

The delegates from Monroe, Jackson and La Crosse counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:20 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:25 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Michael Crneckiy representing Monroe County nominated Dave Amundson, representing Cashton School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Michael Crneckiy moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast unanimous votes for Dave Amundson. Curt Brieske seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Kristi Hanson representing Jackson County nominated Marlane Anderson, representing Melrose-Mindoro School District for 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Kristi Hanson moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Marlane Anderson. Joe Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Marlane Anderson representing Jackson County nominated Kristi Hanson, Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan for 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Lois Corey moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Kristi Hanson. Joe Clark seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Cheryl Hancock representing La Crosse County nominated Errol Kindschy, representing West Salem School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Cheryl Hancock moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Errol Kindschy. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Year End Summary – Guy Leavitt

Guy Leavitt highlighted areas of the 2009-2010 CESA Annual Report. CESA #4's job is to serve our districts' needs and exceed their expectations. Mr. Leavitt encouraged the board members to read through the offerings of services that are available to school districts.

The <u>Council of Chief State School Officers</u> (CCSSO) and the <u>National Governors Association</u> have completed an initiative to develop <u>Common Core State Standards</u>. Wisconsin is one of 48 states committed to this project. The Standards are aligned by college and career expectations and are meant to uplift students across the country.

CESA #4 is grateful for the opportunity to help design solutions to help our districts.

Date for 2011 Annual Convention

Errol Kindschy moved to hold the 2010 Annual Convention on Wednesday evening, June 1, 2011, at 7 p.m. Kristi Hanson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

David Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Jo Ressie moved to adjourn the meeting. Cheryl Hancock seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Sup B. Ewitt

Guy Leavitt