Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4

Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on June 1, 2011

The twenty-eighth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 1, 2011, at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

Workforce Connections – Jamie Applin, Executive Director/CEO

Workforce Connections has been providing employment and training services to adults, laid-off workers and youth since 1983. Workforce Connections serve youth who are at risk of dropping out of high school and provides them with educational and construction skills. Graduates of the program are better able to gain employment and/or pursue higher education.

Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) mission is to help young people stay in school and to acquire the academic, personal, leadership, and vocational skills they will need to be successful upon graduation.

WisCorps is an evidence-based program that provides "hands on" projects for young adults to gain life and employment skills. It provides community service opportunities and leadership development along the way.

Unfortunately, youth experience greater negative impacts in poor economies. Long-term unemployment has adverse effects on young people's earnings and professional growth. High youth unemployment has lasting individual health implications and social fabric concerns.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Kristi Hanson Arcadia – Laney Bork Bangor – Julie Meyers Black River Falls – Lois Corey Cashton - David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City – Jo Ressie Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Gene Hogden Hillsboro – Denise Huntley Holmen – Kari Treadway La Crosse – Ken French La Farge – Curt Parr Melrose-Mindoro - Marlane Anderson Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Curt Brieske Sparta – Joan Cook

Tomah - Mary Ellen Justinger Viroqua – Marina Abt West Salem – Errol Kindschy Westby – Dennis Havlik Whitehall – George Everson Wonewoc-Union Center - Sandy Rogers

The following delegates were absent: Alma – Andrea Goeldner Blair-Taylor – Joe Clark De Soto – Kirk Holliday Independence – Joe Bragger Onalaska – Ann Garrity Royall – Ryan McKittrick

Also present: Guy Leavitt and Michelle Kotek

Nominations were in order for a convention chair. Errol Kindschy nominated David Amundson. Kristi Hanson seconded the nomination. Errol Kindschy moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Dennis Havlik seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Ken French moved that the Roberts Rules of Order serve as a guide for the convention. Marina Abt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Errol Kindschy moved that the minutes from the June 2, 2010 meeting be approved as printed in the 2010 - 2011 Annual Report pages 3 and 4. Motion seconded by Ken French. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Curt Brieske, Monroe County; Ken French, La Crosse County; Jo Ressie, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties.

The delegates from Monroe, La Crosse and Buffalo/Trempealeau counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:45 p.m.

The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:50 p.m.

Mary Ellen Justinger representing Monroe County nominated Curt Brieske from the Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Marlane Anderson moved the nominations be closed and the chair be instructed to cast unanimous vote for Curt Brieske. Mary Ellen Justinger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Julie Meyers representing La Crosse County nominated Ken French from the La Crosse School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Errol Kindschy moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Ken French. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Lois Corey representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Jo Ressie from Cochrane-Fountain City School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Gene Hogden moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Jo Ressie. Laney Bork seconded the motion. Motion carried.

2010-2011 CESA Annual Report

Guy Leavitt thanked the delegates for attending the annual meeting. CESA #4 can fill the niche of customizing programming to meet individual district needs. Customer service is our number one priority – being a cooperative means we are member owned by our 26 school districts. During the past year the following speakers were brought in for the monthly superintendent meetings: Coulee Region United Educators, Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association, Wisconsin Association of School District Administrators, School Administrators Alliance and a host of attorneys spoke on the effects of Act 10. Workshops we hosted for area educators included: Common Core Standards, Professional Learning Communities, Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports, Response to Intervention and a variety of technology offerings. In the special education arena, CESA #4 offered workshops on compliance of the 20 indicators and offerings to meet the needs of autistic children to name a few.

Sandy Rogers moved to hold the 2012 Annual Convention on Wednesday evening, June 6, 2012, at 7 p.m. Marina Abt seconded the motion. Motion carried.

David Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Kristi Hanson moved to adjourn the meeting. Lois Corey seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Guy Leavitt