Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 June 4, 2014

The thirty-first Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 4, 2014 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

WISCONSIN RURAL SCHOOLS ALLIANCE PRESENTATION

Jerry Fiene, Executive Director, provided background on the development of the Alliance.

The three main purposes of the Alliance include:

- To work collaboratively to solve issues pertinent to rural schools and communities;
- To build a clearinghouse of research and educational best practices for rural schools
- To advocate for rural schools and communities at the local, state and federal level

The reason to have a rural association includes: to have a voice in rural education, communication network for rural stakeholders, advocate for rural education in the Wisconsin political system, representative for rural districts at state level decision making groups, connection of rural districts with the National Rural Education Association. The organization is unique because its only focus is to represent rural interests, only group to have all components of public education gathered together to make decisions and wants equal opportunities for rural children.

The Rural Schools Fall Conference held at Stoney Creek in Mosinee is an inexpensive professional development opportunity to share information and best practices important to school districts. The student scholarship program continues to grow with the increase in membership.

Legislators are cognizant of the organization and Mr. Fiene encourages districts/individuals to become members to grow the organization even larger and provide a stronger voice when advocating for children in rural districts in Wisconsin.

Notice of Annual Meeting

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting.

A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:
Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright
Arcadia – Laney Bork
Bangor – Julie Meyers
Black River Falls – Mary Jo Rozmenoski
Blair-Taylor – Dave Smikrud
Cashton – David Amundson
Cochrane-Fountain City – Jo Ressie

De Soto – Geri Fox
Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Tanya Gendreau
Holmen – Kate Mayer
La Crosse – Ken French
La Farge – Peggy Pasker
Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Curt Brieske
Royall – Ross Friedl
Sparta – Joan Cook
Tomah – Gary Grovesteen
Viroqua – Marina Abt
West Salem – Jane Halverson
Westby – Dennis Havlik

Absent:

Alma – Corey Hanson Hillsboro – Jenni Schrock Independence – No delegate selected Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson Onalaska – Brian Haefs Whitehall – George Everson Wonewoc-Union Center – Sandy Rogers

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Ken French nominated Dave Amundson as chairperson. Dave Smikrud seconded the nomination. Curt Brieske moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous ballot for Dave Amundson. Dave Smikrud seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Ken French moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Jo Ressie seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2013 Annual Meeting Minutes

Jo Ressie moved that the minutes from the June 5, 2013 meeting be approved as distributed and printed in the 2013-14 Annual Report pages 5 and 6. Motion seconded by Tanya Gendreau. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Curtis Brieske, representing Monroe Counties; Ken French, La Crosse County; and Jo Ressie, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties.

The delegates from Monroe, La Crosse and Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:50 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:55 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Ross Friedl representing Monroe County nominated Curt Brieske, Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Ross Friedl moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Curt Brieske. Joan Cook seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Julie Meyers representing La Crosse County nominated Ken French, La Crosse School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Julie Meyers moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Ken French. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Smikrud representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Jo Ressie, Cochrane-Fountain City School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Dave Smikrud moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Jo Ressie. Laney Bork seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary - Guy Leavitt

- There were four new superintendents in the region this year. Shelly Severson at Black River Falls; Paul Fischer at Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan; David Bell, Cashton; and Steven Lozeau at Wonewoc-Union Center.
- Common Core has been a hot topic for districts this past year.
- The plan of representation was reviewed for the CESA #4 Board of Control.
- Service By Design has been well received by districts and allows them to have CESA #4 customize a service to fit their individual district needs.

The support of our CESA #4 school districts is appreciated and the districts should be proud of themselves for the great job they do in advocating for their students.

Date for 2015 Annual Convention

Jo Ressie moved to hold the 2015 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at 7 p.m. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Ken French moved to adjourn the meeting. Peggy Pasker seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Guy Leavitt