Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 Held on June 3, 2015

The thirty-second Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 3, 2015 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright

Arcadia – Laney Bork

Bangor – Julie Meyers

Black River Falls - Mary Jo Rozmenoski

Blair-Taylor – Dave Smikrud

Cashton – David Amundson

Cochrane-Fountain City - Jo Ressie

De Soto – Rick Pedretti

La Crosse – Ken French

La Farge – Barb Sarnowski

Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson

Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Curt Brieske

Onalaska – Brian Haefs

Royall - Ross Friedl

Tomah – Nancy McCov

Viroqua – Kim Littel

West Salem – Jane Halverson

Westby - Dennis Havlik

Absent:

Alma – Todd Myren

Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Tanya Gendreau

Hillsboro – Brian Hora

Holmen - Kate Mayer

Independence – Joe Brägger

Sparta – Joan Cook

Whitehall - George Everson

Wonewoc-Union Center - Sandy Rogers

Also Present: Cheryl Gullicksrud, Guy Leavitt, Wayde Pollock and Michelle Kotek

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

David Smikrud nominated Dave Amundson as chairperson. Mary Jo Rozmenoski seconded the nomination. Ken French moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Curt Brieske moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2014 Annual Meeting Minutes

Ken French moved that the minutes from the June 4, 2014 meeting be approved as distributed and printed in the 2014-15 Annual Report pages 7 and 8. Motion seconded by Jo Ressie. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Dennis Havlik and Peggy Pasker, representing Vernon Counties; Julie Meyers, La Crosse County; and Dave Smikrud, Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties.

The delegates from Vernon, La Crosse and Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:08 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:11 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Kim Littel representing Vernon County nominated Peggy Pasker, La Farge School District and Dennis Havlik, Westby School District for 3-year terms. Additional nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Kim Littel moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Peggy Pasker and Dennis Havlik. Barb Sarnowski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jane Halverson representing La Crosse County nominated Julie Meyers, representing Bangor School District for a 3-year term. Additional nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Ross Friedl moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Julie Meyers. Ken French seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jo Ressie representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Dave Smikrud, representing the Blair-Taylor School District for a 3-year term. Additional nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Lanie Bork moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Dave Smikrud. Jo Ressie seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Review of Triennial Report/Year End Summary - Guy Leavitt

Once every three years each CESA needs to provide a triennial report to the Department of Public Instruction. We have incorporated the Triennial and Annual Report into one document this year. The report includes data from surveys conducted in early March 2015. Feedback from surveys will assist our staff in planning professional development for board members, superintendents and educators.

CESA #4 wants to provide valuable services to the twenty-six school districts that we serve in western Wisconsin. The needs assessment part of the survey gives direction to CESA in prioritizing programming needs in regular and special education services. Managing disruptive behavior, reading, and literacy services were key areas indicated by administrators and teachers as priorities for professional development. Service By Design is available to assist districts in meeting needs they have in a specific area.

The plan of representation and how the eleven member Board of Control membership is arrived at was discussed with those in attendance.

It's been an honor to serve the past eight years as your CESA #4 Administrator. It's been a high point in my educational career. I'm so proud of what schools in western Wisconsin are doing. We are blessed with quality administrators and educators.

Cheryl Gullicksrud - Comments from new CESA #4 Administrator

Thank you for the opportunity to be your next CESA #4 Administrator. Education is about providing opportunities for future generations. Being a lifelong learner is very important to me. Collaboration and sharing of best practices are also very important. I believe very strongly in personalized learning for students. The student may be a fellow colleague, administrator, teacher, or child.

People are the focus – service first – focusing on strengths of employees. The tools I will use to move CESA forward are listening and gathering information from school districts. What is your district proud of?

One of my strengths is in finding the gifts and talents of employees and having employees reach their full potential. In collaboration with Mr. Leavitt, we have a transition plan outlining the activities for the 60-90-120 day increments from my start date of July 1. I am very proud to be part of CESA #4 and to continue to carry on the tradition of Service . . . Above and Beyond.

Date for 2016 Annual Convention

The 2016 Annual Convention will be held on Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at 7 p.m. at CESA #4 in West Salem.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to adjourn the meeting. Ken French seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Guy Leavitt