COOPERATIVE EDUCATIONAL SERVICE AGENCY #4

The Board of Control met on Wednesday, May 3, 2017, at Drugans, rural Holmen, Wisconsin. Chairman Dave Amundson called the meeting to order at 8 p.m.

Board Members Present: David Amundson, Kevin Bauman, Dawn Comeau, Larry Cyrus, Jane Halverson, Julie Meyers, Gerald Roethel, Mary Jo Rozmenoski, Sarah Staff and Jim Wright.

Excused: Dr. Shawn Sedgwick

Also present: Cheryl Gullicksrud, Wayde Pollock, Bill Oldenburg and Michelle Kotek

PUBLIC INPUT - None

APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

Sarah Staff moved to approve the meeting agenda as distributed. Mary Jo Rozmenoski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE TO NEW BOARD MEMBERS FROM: BLAIR-TAYLOR, COCHRANE-FOUNTAIN CITY AND LA CROSSE

Cheryl Gullicksrud administered the Oath of Office to Sarah Staff, Blair-Taylor (replacing David Smikrud); Larry Cyrus, Cochrane-Fountain City (replacing Jo Ressie) and Dawn Comeau (replacing Bill Oldenburg).

READING AND APPROVAL OF APRIL 5, 2017 MEETING MINUTES

Jim Wright moved to approve the meeting minutes of the April 5, 2017 meeting. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE VOUCHERS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT FOR THE MONTHS OF APRIL

Julie Meyers moved to approve the vouchers and financial statement for the month of April. Kevin Bauman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

APPROVE RESIGNATION

Jane Halverson moved to approve the resignation of Anne Blaylock, Educational Audiologist effective the end of the 2016-17 school year. Anne has been with the agency since 2003. Mary Jo Rozmenoski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE HEALTH AND DENTAL INSURANCE RENEWAL FOR 2017-18

Jim Wright moved to approve the 2017-18 Health and Dental Insurance Renewal with WCA Group Health Trust (UHC Network). Zero increase on the Heath insurance and 3 percent on the Dental Insurance (employee will pay the increase) since CESA #4 pays a flat amount of the premium for dental. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried.

APPROVE CONVENTION AGENDA FOR JUNE 7, 2017

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to approve the June 7, 2017 Convention agenda. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

AGENCY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT TO THE BOARD

- WASB Spring Academy May 16 at 6 pm. Register thru WASB. Fee \$85
- Kohl Recognition Luncheon April 30 award recipients received double the amounts as expected (\$10,000 for student recipients and \$6,000 for educator recipients)
- Working on the Work (WOW) statewide program of professional development created by DPI and CESA staff was broadcast around the state on April 26 and 27 and CESA #4 was the host site of the broadcast.
- CESA vehicle replacement plans
- Onalaska High School received a FAB lab \$25,000 grant award from the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation
- DPI released the first draft of the State's ESSA application last week. Session for public comment will be scheduled soon.

Jim Wright moved to approve the Agency Administrator's report. Kevin Bauman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION UNDER WI STATUTE 19.85 (1) [c] FOR DISCISSION ON EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION 2017-18

Jane Halverson moved to go into closed session. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Roll call vote was taken: Kevin Bauman - aye; Dawn Comeau - aye; Larry Cyrus - aye; Jane Halverson - aye; Julie Meyers - aye; Gerald Roethel - aye; Mary Jo Rozmenoski - aye; Dr. Shawn Sedgwick – absent; Sarah Staff - aye; Jim Wright - aye; and David Amundson - aye. Motion carried. Adjourned into closed session at 8:25 p.m.

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Jim Wright moved to return to open session. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Roll call vote was taken: Kevin Bauman – aye; Dawn Comeau - aye; Larry Cyrus - aye; Jane Halverson - aye; Julie Meyers - aye; Gerald Roethel - aye; Mary Jo Rozmenoski - aye; Dr. Shawn Sedgwick – absent; Sarah Staff - aye; Jim Wright - aye; and David Amundson - aye. Motion carried. Returned to open session at 8:35 p.m.

REPORT OUT

Jane Halverson moved to approve the recommendation of a two percent for salary increases for 2017-18 and at the Agency Administrator's discretion the flexibility to make necessary adjustments based on performance and equity distribution. Mary Jo Rozmenoski seconded the motion. Roll call vote was taken: Kevin Bauman - aye; Dawn Comeau - aye; Larry Cyrus - aye; Jane Halverson - aye; Julie Meyers - aye; Gerald Roethel - aye; Mary Jo Rozmenoski - aye; Dr. Shawn Sedgwick – absent; Sarah Staff - aye; Jim Wright - aye; and David Amundson - aye. Motion carried.

BOARD OF CONTROL MEMBER INPUT/CRACKER BARREL

None

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Board reorganization

2017-2018 meeting calendar – question posed if board members are interested in moving meeting time any earlier?

Property and casualty insurance

ADJOURNMENT

Jim Wright moved to adjourn. Julie Meyers seconded the motion. Motion carried. Adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Next meeting: Wednesday evening, June 7, 2017 at 7 p.m. Location: CESA #4 for the Annual Meeting and the Organizational Meeting to immediately follow.

Respectfully submitted, Cheryl Gullicksrud