Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 Held on June 6, 2018

The thirty-fifth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 6, 2018 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7 p.m.

Program: Steve McCombs, Performance Consultant at Western Technical College spoke on the 5 groups of generations that make up our employees and customers/stakeholders (Traditionalist, Baby Boomers, Generation X, Generation Y/Millennials, and Generation Z). Steve discussed commonly held beliefs and specific and realistic ways to engage the generations. The audience was paired off and discussed the strengths/assets, influences, information sources, learning styles and career planning of the various generations. Discussion topics were shared with the whole group. One take away from the presentation was when conflict arises to find common ground rather than dwell on the differences and build upon the positive.

Jane Halverson motion to approve the meeting agenda and Kevin Bauman seconded the motion. Motion carried. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright Arcadia – Paul Servais Bangor – Paul Wuensch Black River Falls - Mary Jo Rozmenoski Blair-Taylor - Sarah Staff Cashton - David Amundson Cochrane-Fountain City - Larry Cyrus Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau – Don Lanik Hillsboro – Jason Oetzman Holmen - Barb Wettstein Independence - Chuck Walek La Farge – Aaron Nemec Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton – Kevin Bauman Royall - Raye Walz Sparta – Nancy Sikorsky Tomah – John McMullen Viroqua – Marina Abt West Salem – Jane Halverson Westby – Gerald Roethel Whitehall - George Everson

Absent:

Alma – Sarah Danzinger De Soto – Kirk Holliday La Crosse – Dawn Comeau Melrose-Mindoro – Marlane Anderson Onalaska – Jim Driscoll Wonewoc-Union Center – Melanie Benson

Also Present: Cheryl Gullicksrud and Michelle Kotek

Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Mary Jo Rozmenoski nominated David Amundson as chairperson. Nominations were called for from the floor. Marina Abt moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Chuck Walek seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Sarah Staff moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Reading and Approval of 2017 Annual Meeting Minutes

Jim Wright moved that the minutes from the June 7, 2017 meeting be approved as distributed and printed in the 2017-18 Annual Report pages 7 and 8. Motion seconded by Paul Servais. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Julie Meyers, La Crosse County; Gerald Roethel, Vernon County; Shawn Sedgwick, Vernon County; and Sarah Staff, Buffalo/Trempeauleau Counties.

The delegates from La Crosse, Vernon and Buffalo/Trempealeau counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 8:07 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 8:11 p.m.

Election of Members to Board of Control

Paul Servais representing Buffalo/Trempealeau Counties nominated Sarah Staff, Blair-Taylor School District for a 3-year term. Chuck Walek seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Paul Wuensch representing La Crosse County nominated Julie Meyers, Bangor School District for a 3-year term. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Marina Abt representing Vernon County nominated Gerald Roethel from the Westby School District and Aaron Nemec from the La Farge School District to fill the 2 seats, each for 3-year terms. Jason Oetzman seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary - Cheryl Gullicksrud

Cheryl Gullicksrud gave a brief historical perspective about CESA #4 and thanked the twenty-six districts for their continued support. Equity was a major theme in CESA #4 services this year. In addition, programming focused on increasing educators' awareness of students' social and emotional learning needs and strategies to address them. The three programs that addressed the need included: Youth Mental Health First Aid, Trauma-Informed Care and Challenging Behaviors/Emotional and Behavioral Disabilities Network.

CESA #4 Vision and Priorities focus is to ensure student success in area school districts. The CESA #4 budget for 2017-18 is \$6.2 million and district contracts account for the largest percentage of operating revenue.

CESA #4 conducted the triennial survey to gather assessment data from its stakeholders and find out the priorities that CESA #4 should focus on in the future. The top priorities among the survey recipients included: school-based mental health/trauma informed care, challenging behavior management, STEM and Academic and Career Planning – connecting with the business and industry partners.

Date for 2019 Annual Convention

Sarah Staff moved to hold the 2019 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 7 p.m. Kevin Bauman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

David Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

Adjournment

Paul Wuensch moved to adjourn the meeting. John McMullen seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Cheryl Gullicksrud