# Minutes of the Annual Meeting Cooperative Educational Service Agency #4 Held on June 5, 2019

The thirty-sixth Annual Meeting of the Cooperative Educational Service Agency No. 4 was held on Wednesday evening, June 5, 2019 at the CESA #4 Office (Heritage Conference Room), 923 East Garland Street, West Salem, Wisconsin.

Chair David Amundson called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

Program: Educators Rising - Paul Fischer, is the Superintendent at Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan (ACHM) School District. Paul also is a member of the Wisconsin Rural Schools Advisory Council. The Council focuses on a range of community concerns that affect rural areas, including education and overall quality-of-life issues. Leah Luke, past recipient of the WI Teacher of the Year award from Mauston introduced Paul to the Educators Rising program. The program exists to help guide students toward a high-quality, hands-on exploration of teaching. Resources are designed to be integrated directly into elective courses and CTE programs of study or used in extracurricular programs. The resources have been carefully crafted and curated to help students take their first steps on the path to great teaching. Mr. Fischer meets monthly with interested students over their lunch hour and utilizes the resources available on the Educators Rising website to engage the students in exploring teaching as an option when furthering their post K-12 education and as a career objective. Students also are able to compete regionally amongst their peers (similar to other extra-curricular programs i.e., DECA).

Paul encouraged districts to look at ways to engage student involvement in their own districts. A district would need to find an interested adult to facilitate the process with interested high school students. ACHM also has relationships with area institutions of higher learning to provide elective credit opportunities for the upper classroom in both Assistant Childcare and Early Childcare courses. ACHM has also provided teacher assistant opportunities to high school students. Typically, the arrangements work for the students to do the teacher assistant opportunities at the start of their school day or at the end of the day since the elementary classes are in a different building.

The takeaway is that since the candidate pool for teaching applicants has been significantly reduced nationwide in recent years, districts will have to be more creative in "growing" their own teachers in hopes they will come back and work in their local communities.

Michelle Kotek read the notice of the annual meeting. A roll call of delegates indicated that the following were present:

Alma Center-Humbird-Merrillan – Jim Wright Arcadia – Diana Tempski Bangor - Julie Meyers

Black River Falls - Mary Jo Rozmenoski

Blair-Taylor - Sarah Staff

Cashton - David Amundson

Cochrane-Fountain City - Larry Cyrus

Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau - Pat Malone

Holmen - Barb Wettstein

Independence - Chuck Walek

La Farge - Aaron Nemec

Melrose-Mindoro – Jodi Anderson

Norwalk-Ontario-Wilton - Kevin Bauman

Sparta – Mary Treu

Tomah – John McMullen

Viroqua - Matt Tubbin

West Salem - Jane Halverson

Westby - Gerald Roethel

#### Absent:

Alma – Douglas Kane

De Soto – Ryan Venner

Hillsboro – Jason Oetzman

La Crosse – Dawn Comeau

Onalaska – Jim Driscoll

Royall - Raye Walz

Whitehall - George Everson

Wonewoc-Union Center - Melanie Benson

Also Present: Cheryl Gullicksrud and Michelle Kotek

## Nominations for Convention Chairperson

Mary Jo Rozmenoski nominated David Amundson as chairperson. Julie Meyers seconded the nomination. Jane Halverson moved that the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous ballot for David Amundson. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Chuck Walek moved to adopt Roberts Rules of Order to serve as a guide for the convention. Pat Malone seconded the motion. Motion carried.

#### Reading and Approval of 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

Jane Halverson moved that the minutes from the June 6, 2018 meeting be approved as distributed. Motion seconded by Sarah Staff. Motion carried.

The chair announced the expired terms of Jane Halverson, La Crosse County; Mary Jo Rozmenoski, Jackson County; Jim Wright, Jackson County; and David Amundson, Monroe County.

The delegates from La Crosse, Jackson and Monroe counties were asked to caucus and nominate candidates for the expired terms. Delegates convened at 7:35 p.m. The meeting was called back to order by the chairman at 7:40 p.m.

#### **Election of Members to Board of Control**

Barb Wettstein representing La Crosse County nominated Jane Halverson (West Salem School District) for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Julie Meyers moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for Jane Halverson. Barb Wettstein seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jodi Anderson representing Jackson County nominated Mary Jo Rozmenoski and Jim Wright, representing the Black River Falls and Alma Center Humbird-Merrillan School Districts respectively for 3-year terms. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. Jodi Anderson moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for Mary Jo Rozmenoski and Jim Wright. Jim Wright seconded the motion. Motion carried.

John McMullen representing Monroe County nominated Dave Amundson representing the Cashton School District for a 3-year term. Nominations were called for from the floor, there were none. John McMullen moved the nominations be closed and the secretary be instructed to cast an unanimous vote for David Amundson. Kevin Bauman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

### Review of Annual Report/Year End Summary - Cheryl Gullicksrud

Cheryl reviewed the Snapshot publication that was distributed to the group. 2018-2019 brought four new superintendents to our region (Jeff Arzt, Melrose-Mindoro; Lance Bagstad, Arcadia; Steve Michaels, Westby; and Rob Stewart, Alma). CESA #4 unveiled its new website last fall. The new programs and services that were available this year included: Career Pathways Development, Continuous Improvement Services, District Assessment Coordinator (DAC), International Society for Technology Education (ISTE) certification, and WISEdata service.

Instructional Services priorities moving forward:

- School Based Mental Health
- Science Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)
- Academic and career planning and connecting with business and industry.

*Special Education priorities moving forward:* 

- School-based mental health/trauma informed care
- Best practice instruction to improve learning outcomes
- Managing challenging behavior

Cheryl is willing to come out to local board meetings to provide more information on CESA #4 programming with your local school board members.

### Date for 2020 Annual Convention

Mary Jo Rozmenoski moved to hold the 2020 Annual Convention on Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7 p.m. Jane Halverson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dave Amundson announced that there will be an organizational meeting of the Board of Control immediately following the Annual Convention.

# Adjournment

Diana Tempski moved to adjourn the meeting. Sarah Staff seconded the motion. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Kotek